CLIENT: Earache Records
PROJECT: Those Damn Crows Point Of No Return Album artwork

When you get the call to work with one of the best independent rock/metal labels in the UK if not the world, you know it will lead to some very cool artwork and some great music to inspire it. This was definitely one of those cases when Earache Records got in touch to work on the second album by up and coming rock band Those Damn Crows, produced by Colin Richardson at Andy Sneaps studio In Ripley Derbyshire UK.
After being contacted by Dan Tobin (label manager) and working a few rough sketches based on the album title, we were later introduced to the bands lead singer Shane who told us a bit more about the concept of the second album by the band. We talked over their likes and dislikes of the current draft of sketches and decided to pursue a more icon/geometric approach with a modernised 80s retro aesthetic much like the Netflix show Stranger Things. This first attempt hit home and we nailed down the cover over night.

To fit this new art the label and band were keen to work on a new more solid logo, A standard black and white version can be seen below with the styled up version gracing the cover art and social media banners.
Check out the cover art, various formats, then look out for the full layout design when the album is released February 7 2020 On Earache Records.
The band were keen to launch the pre order with the full reveal of the artwork and first Single ‘Who Did It’ SO we created a fully animated artwork reveal video featuring this stand out track below.

01 Who Did It
02 Set In Stone
03 Sin on Skin
04 Be You
05 Never Win
06 Send The Reaper
07 Kingdom Of Dust
08 Going Down
09 Long Time Dead
10 King Of Second Chances
11 Go Get It
12 Hey Man (Look At Me Now)
13 Devil In My Pocket

Exclusive HMV Alternative cover artwork

A few days after everything was ready for the announcement Earache Records got in touch again and asked me to work on a few alternative cover versions of the main art for use on an exclusive HMV only version of the album. You can see and pre order the HMV approved cover art below.

You may also like

Back to Top